Bonnie Hopkins – A Woman For All Seasons – Part 2

The greatest challenge in my writing career was gathering the courage to submit the manuscript of my first book, Seasons, to a publisher because I was filled with fear that it would be rejected

dsc_0010_0

I am continuing my conversation with Bonnie Hopkins, author of Seasons, Now and Then Again, Destiny and Beyond The Break. Bonnie writes from a foundation of Christian principles, life experiences and observations. Last week she talked about the Riverwood series and her first three books. Click on the link to read Bonnie Hopkins – Part 1.

Your new book is Beyond The Break. Describe the storyline.

Beyond The Break is the third book in the Riverwood series. This book explores an issue so many women deal with. What’s more important, security, luxury or peace of mine? Being alone or having a man at any cost?

Such was the agonizing case for C. J. Singleton. After tolerating twenty years of infidelity and deception from her husband, an ex-pro basketball star, C. J. has a snapped moment. She grabs her deer rifle and takes aim at her husband and the other woman in their bed with him. As a result, C. J. ends up homeless, destitute and overwhelmed with survival issues but is determined not to go back to her husband. But is God pleased? How long must she pray for answers that are slow in coming? Why are other issues requiring major decisions flooding into her life? Can she survive it all alone? Or does she dare take a chance and accept the new beginning being offered?

Beyond+The+Broken+-+Front+Cover (1)

Does the title have a special meaning?

Yes, it does. Life has so many breaks, such as disappointments, challenges, transitions, troubles and trials that are often beyond our control. Unless we find the strength and grace to reach beyond those things to a new beginning or hope, there is likelihood of falling into defeat, depression, hopelessness, etc. So many people need to be reminded to reach beyond the break and not give up.

What did you have to transform inside yourself in order to be able to write your books and put them out into the world?

Overcoming debilitating fears, doubts, feelings of inadequacies about whether writing these books are God’s plan and purpose for my life, and dealing with the ever-present question of:  Can I write books that God will bless and which will bless readers?

Everything you want is on the other side of fear!

Are any of your books based on your life experiences?

Yes, there are pieces of my life experiences and lessons learned in every book.

Can you share a challenge you faced and how you were able to come through it?

The greatest challenge in my writing career was gathering the courage to submit the manuscript of my first book, Seasons, to a publisher because I was filled with fear that it would be rejected. It wasn’t easy, but the possibility of never knowing grew greater than the fear. I finally submitted it in spite of the fear, and guess what? The first publisher I submitted to offered me a contract.

seasons book cover

What do you hope readers get from reading your books?

Encouragement. Inspiration. Hope. A closer relationship with God and others.

Why do you write about issues that women face?

Actually, it’s my desire to reach both women and men. However, being a woman, I can relate better to how women feel, respond and react to issues.

Destiny - cover -jpeg (1)

Do you view your books as a ministry?

I do view my books as a ministry. I have a relationship with God and the church. It’s who I know, what I believe, and what I hope to impart to others through my stories.

Are there any more books in the Riverwood series?

There is one more work in progress in the Riverwood series.

Can you share what you are presently working on?

I am currently working on the fourth book in the Riverwood series, and contemplating/exploring other stories as well.

How can you be contacted for workshops, seminars, speaking engagements, and book signings?

I can reached through my website bonniehopkins.com

I can also be reached through my email address: bonniehopkins09@aol.com

Cover - Now and Then, Again (1)

Thanks Bonnie for taking time out of your busy schedule to talk about your wonderful books. I encourage readers who want to curl up with a good book to read your new book, Beyond The Break. And if you haven’t read any of Bonnie’s  books, start with Seasons and continue through the series.

Bonnie Hopkins is a retired Community Relations Consultant for the Houston Police Department. She retired to pursue other goals, but to her surprise, every path led to writing. She eventually came to understand that it was God calling her into a writing ministry. In addition to writing, Bonnie is a mentor and a coach to aspiring writers. Bonnie’s books are bestsellers, recipients of awards and recognitions and have been a blessing to countless readers. To read her books, click on the links below:

Seasons

Now and Then, Again

Destiny

Beyond The Break

IMG_3170

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Rev. Dr. Grace

I am the pastor of Hopewell Church in a small town in Tennessee. I will be talking about the challenges female ministers face as they navigate their role in the church.

Leave a Reply

